Weekly Update

Please make sure you read through all the information. We have a lot going on, and a lot we would love to see our children be involved with.

It’s been a fun week in Grade 2, from PJ Day in our cozy, comfy jammies, to starting a new unit in science, Force and Motion, where we have been making predictions and doing experiments, and finishing off our first novel study called Frog and Toad, lots of great things going on.

Dates to Remember:

Monday, November 26th – November scholastic orders due

Wednesday, November 28th – Knight Day and Hot Lunch

Thursday, November 29th – Decorating Party

Friday, November 30th – Pro-D Day

Spelling and Phonograms:

There will be no spelling list or phonograms this week.

Bible Memory:

Psalm 23

The Lord is my shepherd, I lack nothing. He makes me lie down in green pastures, he leads me beside quiet waters, he refreshes my soul. He guides me along paths of righteousness for his names sake. Even though I walk through the darkest valley, I will fear no evil, for you are with me; Your rod and your staff, they comfort me. You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies. You anoint my head with oil; my cup overflows. Surely your goodness and love will follow me all the days of my life, and I will dwell in the house of the Lord forever.

This is the last verse in Psalm 23. The students are pretty excited that they will know an entire chapter.

Reminders and Other Information:

  • Remember your Home Reading
  • Christmas is fast approaching, and it is time to make the classroom look festive! We are going to have a decorating party on Thursday, November 29th. The party will take place from 1:15-3pm. I am looking for 4 or 5 parent volunteers to come in and help us with some of the activities. I am also looking for a couple of parents who could bake some sugar cookies that we can decorate. Please let me know ASAP if you are willing and able! Send me an email, or leave a note in the planner. No siblings please.
  • As a primary department we have been looking for ways for our children to give back and to serve their community, and this year we have decided that we will hold a Garage Sale! The Garage Sale will be held at the beginning of December, so between now and then we are looking for our primary families to donate any toys or games that they no longer want. So, as you think about cleaning up and clearing out your playroom before Christmas, consider what you can donate. Donations may be given to classroom teachers. Please only send items that work, and that are in good condition. The money we raise will be donated to the Ann Davis House.
  • We are happy to announce an update to our uniform policy that has been recently passed by the School Board.
    • 1) Black ankle boots are now permitted as a uniform footwear option for all students for any day of the week, including full-dress days and with skirts/kilts. The boots are to be at or just above the ankle and must be all black. This would include permission for Blundstone style boots. All boots must be lower than a 2 inch heel.
      • Taller boots including rain boots and snow boots are not included in this update. They may be worn to school but students are expected to change into appropriate footwear before the school day begins.
    • 2) All girls may choose to wear black OR navy socks, tights, or leggings with their uniform. The leggings and tights are to be solid and without patterns. Leggings may be footed or non-footed.
  • Food drive begins on Monday … please no noodle soup
    • 5 point items:
      • mac and cheese (5 points per box)
      • chunk soup
      • canned lunches (ravioli, chilli, pork and beans, etc.)
      • canned vegetables
      • canned soup
      • canned fruit
      • Tuna
      • dry pasta
    • Every other item is 1 point each

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *