Sight Word Practice

Good afternoon,

I am sending home (with most students) a sight word practice sheet. On it are some of the sight words that your child does not know. I would like you to practice these at home with your child, and then sign and return it so I can test them on these words. I will send them home with a new list of words, once they have mastered the first list. These are not words they need to be able to spell independently, they are words they need to be able to read independently. Please don’t just practice from the paper I send home, I want them to be able to recognize and read them, not just have them memorized on a piece of paper. If you have any questions about it, let me know.

This is a key year for reading, and we are working on it very hard at school, but support from home makes a huge difference. I will be checking in weekly with your child about this, please take the time to do it. It doesn’t have to be a long, laborious process every day, just a few minutes here and there.

If your child does not come home with a list, then they have mastered all of the sight words we have done up until this point.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *