Friday Update

It was a good week in Grade 2/3. We talked a lot about what it means to be thankful, and things that we are thankful for. We also had a little bit of fun talking about turkeys … turkey’s in disguise, where we would hide if we were a turkey that didn’t want to be eaten for Thanksgiving dinner, as well as lots of fun stories about Thanksgiving. This week we also had an assembly about Healthy Relationships. We read the story “Have you filled a bucket today?” and we talked about what it means to fill verses dip into someone else’s bucket. Ask your child about some examples of each! This week we also had a lockdown drill. This was a bit unnerving for some, especially after the last time this alarm went off. However, despite the nerves, the students all did a great job listening and responding appropriately. I hope that you all have a wonderful Thanksgiving long weekend πŸ™‚

October Dates:

Monday, October 10th – Thanksgiving, no school

Friday, October 14th – Knight Day

Thursday, October 20th – Apple Barn Field Trip

Friday, October 21st – Pro-D, no school

Tuesday, October 25th – Picture Retakes day

Wednesday, October 26th – Fall Colour Day

Friday, October 28th – Knight Day

Spelling:

List will be introduced on Tuesday, October 11th and tested on Thursday, October 20th.

  1. October
  2. people
  3. school
  4. from
  5. time
  6. only
  7. Fall
  8. year
  9. house
  10. pumpkin
  11. corn
  12. five
  13. soft
  14. much
  15. after

Bible Memory:

Psalm 23

The LORD is my shepherd, I shall not be in want. He makes me lie down in green pastures, he leads me beside quiet waters, he restores my soul. He guides me in paths of righteousness for his name’s sake. Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and your staff, they comfort me. You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies. You anoint my head with oil; my cup overflows. Surely goodness and love will follow me all the days of my life, and I will dwell in the house of the LORD forever.

Reminders and Other Information:

  • Apple Barn field trip permission slips have gone home – please sign and return as soon as possible
  • Home Reading -make sure you are reading and returning your book as regularly as possible!
  • Water bottles – please remember to send one with your child, we do not have a water fountain in the class
  • Scholastic: periodically you will receive a scholastic book order. If you wish to order you can do so online with our class code: RC155750

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *