RAZ Kids Set-Up

Reading, Reading, Reading!

Raz Kids is an online reading program that we are going to use every week. The books will be familiar to some of you because it is the same program I use in the class for Home Reading, we are just switching it up to the online version 🙂

When you log on you will see that I have already assigned 3 books to your child. I want your child to choose just ONE (this just allows for some choice) for the week. Practice that book each day (reading it, NOT listening to it), as if it was your home reading. There are comprehension questions that go with it. I don’t want those questions to be answered until you have read the book 5 times. The Reading Comprehension questions will be one of the jobs on your bingo chart each week.

In a couple weeks, I will assign an assessment reading activity as opposed to practice books. At this time I will be checking to see if they are ready to level up, or need more practice at the level I have them at. I recognize that some of you may be ready to read at a higher level right away here, please be patient with me as I figure out how to get you all placed at the level where you should be, and as I am trying to keep track of a lot of new information and new ways to assess. Thanks 🙂

Kids A-Z Login Instructions

Step 1: Go to www.kidsa-z.com

Step 2: Enter or choose the teacher’s username, trast0

Step 3: Your child finds his or her username on the class chart

Step 4: Your child enters his or her password

Passwords are being emailed to you – passwords just require clicking on the picture that they are assigned.

This is the only way RAZ Kids will be required to be used. It does have a Reading Room available as well. When you log on, you can go into the Reading Room and read or listen to books for any of the other silent reading blocks if you so choose, it is not the expectation that you will.

Any questions, let me know!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *